

AVRASYA İNCELEMELERİ MERKEZİ CENTER FOR EURASIAN STUDIES

## ARMENIA CONTINUES VIOLATING CEASEFIRE WITH AZERBAIJAN

26.09.2017

APA (25 September 2017)

Armenias armed forces have 148 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops over the past 24 hours, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA on Sept. 25.

The Azerbaijani army positions in Kohnagishlag village of Aghstafa district, Kamarli, Gaymagli, Gizilhajili villages of Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions on nameless heights in Noyemberyan district, in Berkaber, Paravakar villages and on nameless heights in Armenias Ijevan district.

Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani positions in Aghdam, Kokhanabi, Munjuglu villages of Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions in Chinari, Aygedzor villages of Armenias Berd district.

The Azerbaijani army positions in Zamanli village and on nameless heights in Gadabay district also underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights in Armenias Krasnoselsk district.

The Azerbaijani army positions were shelled from the Armenian army positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Shikhlar, Bash Garvand, Javahirli, Garagashli, Yusifjanli, Marzili villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Ashaghi Veysalli, Gobu Dilagharda, Garvand, Garakhanbeyli, Gorgan, Kurdlar, Horadiz villages of Fuzuli district, Nuzgar, Mehdili villages of Jabrayil district as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goranboy, Tartar, Aghdam and Khojavand districts of Azerbaijan.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Groups members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Kaynak/Source: