

AVRASYA

INCELEMELERI

MERKEZI

CENTER FOR

EURASIAN STUDIES

ARMENIA CONTINUES VIOLATING CEASEFIRE WITH AZERBAIJAN

10.04.2017
10.04.2017

8 April 2017

APA

Over the past 24 hours, Armenian armed forces have 120 times violated the ceasefire along the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops, said Azerbaijans Defense Ministry on April 8.

The Armenian army was using large-caliber machine guns.

The Azerbaijani army positions located in Gushchu Ayrim, Gaymagli and Bala Jafarli villages of Azerbaijans Gazakh district underwent fire from the Armenian army positions located on nameless heights of Noyemberyan district and in Vazashen village of Ijevan district of Armenia.

Meanwhile, the Azerbaijani army positions located in Aghdam, Aghbulag and Munjuglu villages of Azerbaijans Tovuz district were shelled from the Armenian army positions located in Mosesgekh and Chinari villages of Berd district of Armenia.

Moreover, the Azerbaijani army underwent fire from the Armenian positions located near the Armenian-occupied Goyarkh, Yarimja, Chilaburt villages of Tartar district, Garagashli, Yusifjanli, Marzili, Javahirli villages of Aghdam district, Kuropatkino village of Khojavand district, Gorgan, Ashagi Seyidahmadli villages of Fuzuli district, as well as from the positions located on nameless heights in Goygol, Goranboy, Tartar, Khojavand and Jabrayil districts of Azerbaijan.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial

claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Groups members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Kaynak/Source: