

AVRASYA İNCELEMELERİ MERKEZİ CENTER FOR EURASIAN STUDIES

NO INCIDENT DURING OSCE CONTACT LINE MONITORING

06.04.2017

5 April 2017

Trend

The OSCE monitoring held on the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian troops on April 5 passed without incidents, the Azerbaijani Defense Ministry told APA.

The monitoring was held under the mandate of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Personal Representative along the line of contact in the direction of Garakhanbeyli village of Azerbaijans Fuzuli district.

On the Azerbaijani side, the monitoring was held by Personal Representatives field assistants Peter Svedberg, Simon Tiller and the head of the High-Level Planning Group (HLPG) Colonel Hans Lampalzer.

On the Azerbaijani territories occupied and controlled by Armenian armed forces, the monitoring was carried out by Personal Representatives field assistants Mikhail Olaru, Ghenadie Petrica and the representative of the HLPG Lt Col Patrick Farrelly.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in December 1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Groups members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short

intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Kaynak/Source: