

AVRASYA İNCELEMELERİ MERKEZİ CENTER FOR EURASIAN STUDIES

OSCE MG POSTPONES MEETINGS ON KARABAKH CONFLICT SETTLEMENT IN ANKARA

21.07.2016

20 July 2016

Apa.Az

The meetings on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict settlement to be held in Turkey with the participation of the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairmen have been postponed, James Warlick, US co-chair of the OSCE Minsk Group told RIA Novosti.

"At present, we are considering the date of the next meeting," Warlick said.

Earlier, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said at a press-conference in Baku that the OSCE Minsk Group co-chairmen will visit Ankara July 18, where they will inform the Turkish side of the negotiation process on the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict settlement.

The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.

A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, Kalbajar, Aghdam, Fuzuli, Jabrayil, Gubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.

The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.

Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCE Minsk Group, which was

created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Groups members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.

Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1996.

Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACE, OSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.

Kaynak/Source: